Aloo Methi Tarkari – Potatoes And Fenugreek Leaves Curry

Today’s story inspiration came into my crazy head at the spur of the moment. This is what happens when your child is safely tucked into bed and you get the rest of the evening to do exactly as you please even if you so desire to rain dance in your birthday suit. Ooooh! yeah this is my time…my time to do something as crazy as this story about Barbie. 

Recently I’ve been quite active on social media such as Facebook and Instagram although a newbie on Insta so don’t forget to follow me on https://instagram.com/feedingthesonis. Social networking is also just one of the ways to keep myself from going insane with my chronic pains. One needs to vent somewhere.

So anyway to the point..there I was planning my little munchkins birthday party and sending invites to a group of friends via FB messenger (how time’s have changed). A friend asked if it was going to be a Bollywood theme like the previous year and I told him that wasn’t going to be the case this year. He was hugely relieved he wouldn’t be coerced into wearing a saree and the poor guy doesn’t even lean that way the slightest bit..hmmmm unless he leads a secretive double life which I’m not aware of.😁

The topic that was discussed between us friends started from sarees to pole dancing to accidental undraping of it on the kids jumping castle. A nice clean topic turns into a trashy excerpt of an erotic novel. They say great minds think alike..that’s the case with my group of friends. And as always I get accused of being the instigator. These special few are fondly nick named FWFB or Friends With Fringe Benefits. We are all current or ex Finance colleagues who are as crazy as I am. The conversations over lunches, coffees and dinners all begin with intense subjects and end up going a totally different direction and that too without any influence of the alcoholic kind. The company itself is quite intoxicating I tells ya!

After we wrapped up our conversation with our lol’s, ooh’s, umm’s and aah’s I decided to grab myself some dessert from the kitchen. On my way there (it’s a bit of a walk you see) my glance fell on my daughter’s Barbie doll which was lying face down on the dining table. Her hair was dishevelled and saree slightly loosened at the hips. Of course that very moment my crazy brain felt a sudden gush of rush and flashbacked to a tragic Bollywood movie scene thus the birth of this outrageous short story. Some of you may find it humourous some might think I should be locked up with the keys thrown out into the sea….either way hope you enjoy it. 

So here is todays special short film in stills.

FWFB – Friends With Fringe Benefits presents BARBIE GOES TO BOLLYWOOD!

Cast – Barbie, Ken, Ramesh Babu aka Rocco.

Special Appearance – Trees, Flowers, Birds, Bees, 

Supporting Cast – Chotu and the Rain. 

Meet our Bollywood Indian Barbie the super gorgeous main character of this film. 

 The true desi gurl! Isn’t she a beauty?

  Scene 1 – Barbie’s in the kitchen bored with having to cook aloo methi for dinner. She stirs the pot and sighs…wishing to have a home of her own and cooking for her hero Ken after marriage.


 
Scene 2 – Barbie gets a phone call from Ken pleading with her to meet him the following day at Lover’s Point so they can elope together. She enthusiastically starts to pack her 12 suitcases with her outfits and jewelleries. She is feeling a bit excited yet apprehensive fearing her parents reaction on finding out about her escapade. Barbie spends the entire night tossing and turning in bed as she imagines being in the arms of her love for eternity. 

 
Scene 3 – Barbie is anxiously waiting at Lover’s Point for Ken as she watches the birds and the bees buzz by. Nature seems like the most beautiful thing in the world to her as she starts humming her favourite Bollywood romance song. 

 
Scene 4 – Barbie drifts into her thoughts and next thing you know she’s in a barnyard. Enters rain…pouring down on her drenching her saree which now clings onto her figure defining her curves. Suddenly her pallu drops (the top bit that sits oh her shoulder) and she begins to heave her bosoms (you would think she’s having an asthma attack) then instead of a line dancing number she breaks into a bollywood item number song 🎢Kaate nahi kat teh yeh din yeh raat…kehni thi tumse joh dil ki baat..loh aaj main kehti huuuuu…uuuuu…I love youuuuuuu🎢 (Hinglish – unable to spend my day and night even if I want to…want to tell you my heart talk…today I tell youuuuu…uuuuuu…I love youuuuuuu!). 

 
Scene 5 – Hours tick by Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock! Ken doesn’t turn up so she returns home devastated. Days turn into weeks and Barbie is still pining for her lover Ken (violin music softly playing in the background which makes your eyes well up with tears not in empathy for Barbie’s situation but because of the darn tune🎼). 

 
Scene 6 – Breaking news!!!! Chotu the Maali Ramu Kaka’s son (gardener’s son) is seen running to and breaking the news to Barbie. “Didi! didi! Ken bhaiyya Rajdhani express doh chalees ki train pakad kar Mumbai chale gaye…ab wohh kabhi wapas nahi aenge…usko uska sachcha pyar Ramesh Babu (Rocco) mil gaya“. (Hinglish – “sister sister Ken brother caught 2:40 Rajdhani Express train to Mumbai and is gone…now he will never return…he has found his true love in Ramesh Babu aka Rocco”).

Barbie begins to cry uncontrollably (🎼violin music playing even louder now).

The movie ends with Ken exchanging garlands and bharring (filling) Ramesh Babu’s maang (hair parting). Ken recites the wedding vows “ek chutki sindoor ki keemat tum kya jano Ramesh babu” (Hinglish – “one pinch vermillions value what you know of Ramesh babu?”).

Enters Salman Khan who cameos away on his bike with Barbie with the promise of making her a big star in the Mumbai film industry.

Happy ending..everybody’s looking for a happy ending!

Remember… it’s a FWFB – Friends With Fringe Benefits production.

Ingredients

1 Small Bunch Fresh Methi Leaves

3 Small To Medium Sized Potatoes

1 Onion

1/4 Tspn Tumeric/Haldi

1/4 Tspn Red Chilli Powder (optional)

1-2 Green Chillies

1 Tspn Cumin/Jeera Seeds

1/4 Tspn Aesofedita

1-2 Small Garlic

1-2 Tbspn Ghee/Oil (preferably ghee)


Method
β€’ Wash and clean methi leaves and chop very coarsely.
β€’ Cube potatoes into thin-medium thickness.
β€’ Heat up ghee or oil in pan and add Asoefedita/Hing followed by Cumin/Jeera. Allow it to lightly brown.
β€’ Now add garlic, onions and chillies. sautΓ© until lightly browned then add Turmeric/Haldi. 
β€’ Throw in the potatoes and lower the heat. Cover and cook until half done. Spoon break test required at this stage. 
β€’ Finally add the methi leaves and cook until potatoes are mushy soft. 

This dish is best served with Roti/Chapati/Phulke. 

 

28 thoughts on “Aloo Methi Tarkari – Potatoes And Fenugreek Leaves Curry

  1. This is the most fun recipe I have ever ever read!! Bravo!! Desi Barbie is indeed gorgeous! I’m not too active on WP since quite some time now, I hope I’ll see more of your lovely recipes on IG! (no pressure!) πŸ˜€

  2. Ha Ha Ha you crack me up madam. You have a way with Erotica, I mean words πŸ™‚ BTW Aloo methi is a favorite in my house. It is so delicious with hot rotis drizzled with a little Ghee. Loved the write up babe, keep writing more.

    • Nahiiiii😱oh how could you use the word Erotica? By the way what does that mean lol πŸ˜†my blog is saaf suthra thank you very much! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind and valuable words..aap aaye bahaar aayi! 😘😘😘

  3. Lol very funny. Poor Barbie or it is poor Ramesh Babu!! Once again my hero Salman Khan saves the damsel in distress. Now Barbie does not need to cook Alu Meethi. She will have to cook Biryanis in its various avatar lol. Well lage raho Sanju Rani you are a brilliant storyteller. Loved it.

  4. Oooh my God Hahaha, this is hilarious!!!
    I love your imagination but you were always such a great writer!
    Cracking up at barbie packing her 12 suitcases. F*cking women.😁

    And to top it off such a great recipe and gorgeous pictures (barbie included 😝)

    • Dana you’re toooooooo cute! That’s it I’m not saying more about the wonderful sweeet n sexy you or I will sound like I want to elope in the train with YOU lol πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    • Sorry my dear for the late response. See I know you by now haina..you have same cheeky humour that’s why you enjoy my whacky kahanis haina bolo bolo lolπŸ˜‰πŸ˜†Glad you’re enjoying it! And I’m waiting to see you on Insta!😘

    • I know you love your curries Steve so I’m sure you will love this one too. Sorry I haven’t been on WP much so must’ve missed out on a lot of your recipes. Ive been doing the rounds on instagram instead lol..let me know if you’re there too so I can find you. Cheers!πŸ‘πŸΌ

    • Hi thx for stopping by 😊Methi leaves are plants from Fenugreek seeds. They are difficult to find but you can easily plant them in pots like for Cilantro and other herbs. Alternatively you could use the dried leaves which are available from the Indian/Asian grocers. I usually freeze the leaves for later use.

Leave a Reply

