Saijan Bhaji (Drumstick Leaves Stir-Fry)

It’s been a week today since we lost a most respected member of our family our beloved Grandma Biji. I was a bit hesitant to post a recipe this soon as it’s a sad time for us all. It’s also a time which I felt needed to be recorded in memory for my daughter Mishka. Biji was my daughter’s great-grandmother. She had an opportunity to meet Biji in India when she turned one and oftened facetimed together thanks to the innovative technology of these days. It’s quite useful for precious times like this where we can stay connected to our families even though they reside miles away. Our Biji now rests in peace and smiling down upon us from heaven showering us with her blessing.

Todays recipe is of stir-fried drumstick leaves. Drumsticks are often used in Sambars and curries but I love it most in my Dhals. I don’t know much of the use of its leaves except for the way we cook this in Fiji. Basically this is how my mum cooks it either with coconut or with eggs (recipe coming soon). In South India I think this is called Murungai Elai Poriyal (my blogger buddies please correct me if I’m wrong). Why I chose this recipe today – because of the ingredient coconut. It is used as a prayer offering to our Gods in the Hindu religion. I felt it couldn’t get as pure as that thus remembering our Biji as a link to God.

20140507-214612.jpgphoto credit: Tatters ❀ via photopin cc

Sunday 11/5 is Mother’s Day so this one is in memory of our Biji and all the women out there be it our mums, grandmothers or mother-in-laws. You are the goddesses on this heavenly earth and so the offerings to you all. Happy Mother’s day!

Ingredients
5 Cups Drumstick Leaves (loose)
1 Cup Frozen Shredded Coconut
1/4 Tspn Jeera (Cumin seeds)
3-4 Garlic Cloves
1 Onion Sliced
2-3 Red Chillies (optional)
Oil
Salt To Taste

Method
• Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add Jeera and allow it to brown lightly for a few seconds.
• Now add onions and chillies and saute till the onions are translucent.
• Throw in the shredded coconut and stir fry for a minute or two.
• Finally add the drumstick leaves with salt and cook till the leaves are done (this is entirely dependent on how well cooked you like your greens).

This dish is best served with roti/chapati.

20140507-213224.jpg

32 thoughts on “Saijan Bhaji (Drumstick Leaves Stir-Fry)

  1. OOh! Drumstick Leaves! Never had ’em. I have not seem them here in the US but I’m sure there plentiful in Zimbabwe as some folks have them in the trees in their yards. I will have to try it next time I go back. Thanks for introducing me to something new, well for me anyway 😉

  2. I love drumstick leaves soo much. I only have it when i am in India but. Its so difficult to find it here in the middle east. Now seeing this post makes me wanna have it now, now, NOW!

  3. Looks yummy… I will definitely going to try it. Your thoughts are as lovely as your dish… Thanks for sharing them. TC

Leave a Reply

