Beetroot Thoran – a Keralan stir fry with beets, greens and coconut – Guest post by Skinny Chef De Cuisine

Khawateeno hazraat! Ladies and gentlemen! Please take your seats, sit back and relax! Today I have a very special guest..a sweetheart of a fellow blogger friend/wordpress family of mine Dhanya of The Spice Adventuress who kindly accepted my offer to do a guest blog for me.

Dhanya is my inspiration. I often wish I, the lazy chef, was as talented in cooking as she is. I love her style of blogging. She gives you the entire deal and that too with step-by-step photos. Now who does’nt love that especially if you’re a beginner. I’m telling you all she’s your woman!!!😉 Do check her blog out at http://thespiceadventuress.com/

Dhanya is not only a chef but a scientist, a freelance writer, website content manager, recipe developer, a home maker and a super mum too. She truly is “a jack of all trades”. I picture her as a goddess with several arms juggling all these tasks. Hats off to you my dear.🎩I can fill the entire page on her because that’s really how much I admire her but for now less said is best. All I will say in Hindi is that she is here to “chaar chaand lagaya” (to give an absolute honour) to my blog or in Hinglish “4 moon giving” hehe.😄I give you the verdict below so judge for yourself.

20140326-000623.jpg

Over to you Dhanya…

Thoran is a staple in every household in Kerala, a dish that we take for granted. But one region’s staple becomes another’s exotic. And this is the reaction that I get every time I prepare this for those from other regions of India or abroad. Basically, thoran is a stir fry which can be prepared using all kinds of vegetables, lentils, pulses and sometimes even meats. The main component of a thoran (or what makes it a thoran) is the coconut spice mix. Fresh coconut is coarsely ground with green chillies, cumin and garlic to create a fragrant, mildly spiced mixture which forms the base of every thoran.

20140326-000858.jpg

In this particular recipe, I have used whole beets with the greens as the vegetable. Usually, we cut out and throw the greens and use just the beets; but these greens are really healthy and tasty too. The cooking time involved in this dish is very less since the beets are grated and like I said, it is a quick stir fry which helps to retain the nutrients and does not allow the beets and greens to go soggy.

20140326-001138.jpg

A great vegetarian dish which goes well with rice and Indian flat breads…..

Ingredients:
1. Beetroot with the greens attached – 2 medium
2. Mustard seeds – ¼ tsp
3. Curry leaves – 2 stalks
4. Dry red chilli – 2
5. Salt – to season
6. Coconut/vegetable oil – 1 tbsp
7. Coconut spice mix
• Grated coconut – ½ cup
• Green chilli – 1-2 (depending on spice preference)
• Cumin seeds – ½ tsp
• Garlic – 2 cloves

Method:
1. Peel and grate the beets and finely chop the greens with the stalks.
2. To make the coconut mix, coarsely grind all the ingredients.
3. In a pan, heat oil and crackle mustard seeds. Add curry leaves and dry red chilli.
4. Add the beets and greens; stir fry on high heat for a minute.
5. Then add the coconut spice mix, season with salt and continue to stir fry on high heat for another 2 minutes.
6. Serve hot with rice or Indian flat breads.

20140326-001453.jpg

20140326-001649.jpg

20140326-001911.jpg

14 thoughts on “Beetroot Thoran – a Keralan stir fry with beets, greens and coconut – Guest post by Skinny Chef De Cuisine

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog and in return I get a chance to read your blog , I like it . In fact I like beets a lot and I would definitely try this .

  2. This dish looks beautiful! My dad loves beets, and while I love the rich radiant color of beets I have not found a dish that really makes me want to eat it often…this unusual combination with the spices and grated coconut sounds delicious, maybe I will treat him the next time he visits 🙂

  3. Pingback: Beetroot Thoran (a Keralan stir fry with beets, greens and coconut) – and my first guest post | skinnychefdecuisine

  4. Thoran is one of my favorite sides for rice and sometimes even for roti. Usually i throw away the green and just use the beets alone for preparing thoran. But next time, ought to try beets with the greens attached!

Leave a Reply

