Aloo Masala For Dosa (Potato Filling For Fermented Crepe)

As I compose this post there’s a Hindi song playing in my head “auntyji auntyji get up and dance”! Todays recipe of Aloo Masala for Dosa is courtesy Manjula aunty. I, being a North Indian am no expert at cooking authentic South Indian meals. Mind it!!! (Rajnikanth ishtyle) I had to quickly learn for DH who is an ardent fan of idlis and dosas. They do say “the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”. DH’s shirts tugging at his waistline is evidence of my pampering him with lavish Rajbhogs (meals fit for a king) lol. But then married men often say “ghar ki murghi dhal barabar” basically meaning same old boring routine stuff. Let’s just try the Hindi to English translation for fun shall we? “House chicken and lentil same to same” hehe.πŸ˜†

Now Manjula of Manjula’s Kitchen really isn’t my aunty but it’s a very Indian thing to add a relationship to people we want to add respect to or simply for someone we don’t know by first name basis. I don’t mind so much being called an aunty as long as it’s coming from the littlies but when a senior citizen calls me aunty I could just infest their head with lice aarghh!! 😁 I AM NOT YOUR AUNTY DUFFER!!! From what angle do I look like an aunty to you huh? Yeah alright maybe angle is not quite the right word since I am well blossomed from all angles (and proud of it depending on the state of mind I’m in). I’m happy to just tell them my name and keep it informal but often I give up because they will just end up calling me Sanjana “aunty” anyways. It’s like banging your head against a wall..sigh! So anyway back to my song “auntyji auntyji get up and dance pappa pa pappa”.

Ingredients
2-3 Medium Sized Potatoes
Pinch Of Hing/Asafoedita
1/2 Tspn Jeera/Cumin Seeds
1/2 Tspn Sarso/Mustard Seeds
1/2 Tspn Haldi/Turmeric Powder
1-2 Green Chillies Chopped
Slice of Lemon
1-2 Tbspn Oil
Salt To Taste

Method
β€’ Boil the potatoes until soft and allow it to cool then peel.
β€’ Cut potatoes into small cubes.
β€’ Heat pan with oil and add sarso, jeera and hing.
β€’ When the seeds begin to splutter add haldi, green chillies and potatoes.
β€’ Fry for a few mins and if you find it’s too dry add a little bit of water.
β€’ Finally garnish with coriander and a squeeze or two of lemon juice.

This dish is best served stuffed in a dosa or enjoyed with roti/chapati.

20140314-225550.jpg

4 thoughts on “Aloo Masala For Dosa (Potato Filling For Fermented Crepe)

Leave a Reply

