Soya Wadi Pulao (Rice With Soya Bean Chunks)

Todays recipe Soya Wadi (Soya Bean Chunks) Pulao is my husbands favourite quick fix and I can’t believe my luck but he actually knows how to cook this..woohoo! A whistle or two in the pressure cooker and it’s done. My mother-in-laws yoghurt recipe called Khaidu goes really well as accompaniment (recipe to follow).

This is a contribution from my darling sis-in-law Arti. She is the gifted cook in our family. Her food is simply lip-smacking, plate licking, droolworthy delicious. We often say to her “yeh haath mujhe dede Jethani ji” meaning “these hands give to me sister-in-law” (gotta love these hindi to english traslations lol).😄 The proper sense making translation is “give me these hands of yours” much better isn’t it?

Anyway, as I was saying she is my “Indian” food guru. I have learnt from her recipes that DH has grown up eating in Delhi like Rajma, Matar Paneers and Choles. I’m a bit hesitant to post those recipes until I’ve almost perfected it and for that I’ll be needing more cooking lessons from her. It’s gotta wait until my next trip to India..bummer! 😒

Ingredients
1 Cup Soya Bean Chunks
1/2 Cup Frozen Green Peas
1 Onion Finely Chopped
1 Small Stick Dalchini/Cinnamon
1 Black Moti Elaichi/Cardamon
2-3 Black Pepper Seeds
2-3 Cloves
3 Cups Washed Basmati Rice
1/4 Tspn Haldi/Tumeric
1/4 Tspn Jeera/Cumin
2-3 Tbspn Oil
Salt To Taste

Method
• Soak soya bean chunks in warm water for 5 minutes and drain the water once it’s softened and plumped the chunks up.
• Meanwhile heat oil in the pressure cooker or pan and add cumin seeds. As it starts to change color throw in the black pepper, cinnamon, cloves and black cardamon.
• Stir the spices for a few seconds then add onions. Let it brown.
• Now add the soya chunks and green peas and stir fry for a minute ot two. Then add salt and tumeric, stir and finally add the washed rice. For 3 cups of rice add 4 cups of water.
• Cook the pulao in the rice cooker until 2-3 whistles.

This dish is best served with yoghurt raita or salad.

20140221-231917.jpg

3 thoughts on “Soya Wadi Pulao (Rice With Soya Bean Chunks)

Leave a Reply

