Kaddu Tarkari (Pumpkin Curry)

I have a belated Halloween special today..Pumpkin (Kaddu) curry. My mum who is currently visiting cooked this for us. I was craving it for sometime so I decided I’m finally going to learn how to cook it. I was surprised when she told me it was pretty much cooked the same way as most other vegies. The same simple ingredients were used. Sometimes we add dry mango pieces to add a slight variation to the sweet taste of pumpkin.

Ahhh speaking of Mango reminds me of my childhood. So here we go into my flashback…I miss those days where we did absolutely nothing and sleep under the shade of mango trees. We ate mangoes like there was no end to it. It was almost eaten like a meal. We used to have mango picnics with family and friends. It was like a mad obsessive mango gorging session…green mango dipped in sugar, dipped in salt and chilli, mangoes eaten every which way you can think of. Funnily though no one spoke of the after effects of it the next day. ☺️

When I was a kid I was often teased as being a Kaddu (Pumpkin) or for looking like one for the roundness of it I guess. You see I have always been a chubby girl. Of course at that time I used to break out into tears but now I think it’s kind of cute. For some reason being called a Pumpkin in English doesnt sound as bad as being called a Kaddu in Hindi. Why does every derogatory term sound so bad in Hindi…beats me!

Call me whatever you want in English, to my ears that’s music but in Hindi you will wish you hadn’t. 😑 For example saying something like “you are such a witch!” sounds a bit tame…kind of almost decent but try saying it in Hindi…”you are such a chudail!!!!” and it doesnt stop there it ends up with the addition of ghosts, ghouls and demons too. Happy belated Halloween.

Ingredients
1/2 of a Kent/Jap Pumpkin
1 Onion
2-4 Garlic Cloves
3-5 Curry Leaves
1-2 Small Green Chillies
Pinch of Mustard, Cumin and Fenugreek Seeds
1-2 Tbspn Oil
Salt To Taste
Pinch of Sugar (optional)

Method
β€’ Slice onion and crush garlic.
β€’ Wash and peel the hard skin of Pumpkin. Remove the seeds from inside and cut the smooth fleshy bits into small to medium sized cubes.
β€’ Heat oil in pan and add mustard, cumin and fenugreek seeds. Once it starts to splatter add onions, garlic, chillies and curry leaves and brown lightly.
β€’ Now add pumpkin and cook until mushy soft on low heat setting.

This dish is best served with Puri (deep fried bread).

20140216-233728.jpg

13 thoughts on “Kaddu Tarkari (Pumpkin Curry)

  1. Thank you. I have been searching for that recipe, since forever and it’s so easy. I did put in Turmeric, but not because I doubted your recipe, but because it is anti-inflammatory and I need all the help I can get. The whole family loved it and they don’t normally eat pumpkin.Thanks again.

  2. Pingback: Khatta Meetha Kaddu (Sweet & Sour Pumpkin Curry) | Divya's Indian Cookbook

    • Hi Deena sorry for my late response..your comment was sitting quietly in my spam folder with a dozen others..I just saw it..Kaddu curry is somewhat sweet but not overly sweet..the spices tone it down a bit especially the use of garlic and curry leaves..we sometimes add dry mango pieces (khatai) to give it more of a sour taste to it…I think a pinch of aamchur (mango powder) might work the same..I havent tried but I will nxt time for my DH who doesn’t like sweet dishes much. 😊

Leave a Reply

