Lamb And Aloo Tarkari (Lamb And Potato Curry)

Firstly thanks to Foodstories (http://foodstoriesblog.com) and A Storybook World (http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com.au) for honoring me with the Illuminating Blogger and Creative Blogger Awards. It feels great to be appreciated by other awesome bloggers. For more info check out my awards page. I’m on cyber clouds right now.

Ok jobs done..onto my non-food related ramblings now. You might have noticed a sudden change in my writing. Would you believe if I told you I was actually feeling shy when I first started blogging. I woke up one day and decided that’s it I’ll just be the real crazy me after all it’s my blog and my writing should reflect my thoughts even if it’s nonsensical right? Well OK within certain limits of course.

Now you tell me who gets shy in the cyberworld? I did, we Indian women just cannot shake that off no matter how hard we try. Majority of the time we are in lala land and believe we are bollywood heroine Aishwariya (I could just be speaking for myself here sigh!). Suddenly something could trigger our shyness and within seconds eyelashes start fluttering rapidly. Our cheeks turn redder than a tomato even for those gorgeous beauties with delicious chocolate complexions. God forbid if you may get us angry then we take on the avatar of the bandit queen. If we happen to hear music even from a distance our feet start tapping and we start gyrating our hips in chiffon sarees (thoughts only) we have to sus out the situation first before we break into an item number. 😉

If you think we women could go this far imagine how far the guys would go. They well and truly believe they have Hrithik Roshans killer looks with not just six but eight packs (oh that paunch). They have spiked gelled up hair (could just be smothered in Brylcream or dripping in Dabur Amla Oil). They spray deodorant on from head to toe faking it’s Gucci (with the added aroma of curry and incense emanating from their pores.. it’s spice shop on feet!!). They can even perform stunts that makes spiderman look like a cockroach. They dance with arms flung out, legs spread, knees slightly bent and eyebrows raised sporting a metrosexual pout (aka Shah Rukh) you just gotta love them Desiboyz.

Aww alright onto the food now bah! Now I will save myself all the trouble of getting into the history of the lamb and potatoes…for that you have google! Todays recipe Lamb and potato curry is an old friend Mary’s favourite. She’s probably the only one who loved my Lamb curry so passionately. Honestly speaking I got very jealous the day she almost (I repeat almost) perfected cooking it just like I did. I knew I was going to miss her wanting me to cook and feed her and say “eat..look at how skinny you are..just a little bit more..eat!!” 😀 Anyway this ones for her..for those “Mary had a lamb” curry sessions.

Ingredients
1kg Lamb Forequarter Chops (BBQ chops are better as they are thinner cuts)
1 Large Potato Cut Into Bite Sized Chunks
1 Onion Sliced
1 Medium Sized Tomato
2-3 Garlic Cloves
1 Inch Piece Ginger
1 Cinnamon Stick
3-4 Cloves
3-4 Cardamom Pods (or a pinch of just the seeds)
10 Curry Leaves
1/2 Tspn Turmeric Powder
1 Tspn Garam Masala
2-3 Tbspn Oil
Pinch Of Fenugreek, Mustard And Cumin Seeds
Salt To Taste

Method
• Wash and cut lamb into bite size pieces.
• Crush ginger and garlic.
• Slice onion thinly and dice tomatoes in large pieces.
• Heat oil in a pan and add fenugreek, mustard and cumin seeds. As it starts to splatter add cinnamon, cloves and cardamom. Stir for a second or two and add onions.
• Once onions turn translucent add garlic, ginger, chillies and curry leaves and let it brown on medium heat setting. Throw in turmeric and garam masala and give it a quick stir adding lamb soon after that.
• Cook the curry slightly wet/dry on low heat setting. If you find its getting too dry and lamb is still not ready (taste test required) then add a quarter cup of water to cook a little longer.
• Once the water dries and you see some oil float up add potatoes with enough water (as per your preference for gravy) into the lamb curry. Continue to cook on low heat setting.
• After a few minutes check potatoes to see if it’s half cooked using a spoon to break it. If it is then throw in the tomatoes and continue cooking until potatoes are fully done.
• Finish it off with Coriander as garnish and a squeeze or two of lemon juice.

This dish is best served with rice or roti.

20140216-234126.jpg

2 thoughts on “Lamb And Aloo Tarkari (Lamb And Potato Curry)

Leave a Reply

