Aloo Paratha (Indian Bread Filled With Potato)

Guess what…I’m in a blabbering mode so Im throwing in a long post. Todays recipe is the Sonis favourite Paratha (Indian flat bread stuffed with spiced potato). Ok so I lied when I said my recipes are short and quick..sue me! Hehe😜Some take a bit of an effort like the Paratha. For me its one huge effort especially since its not only time consuming but requires some elbow grease as well. In the Soni household this is cooked fortnightly and I am willing to put my arms through a bit of torture for it only because its my daughter Mishkas favourite.

This recipe is a contribution from my dear MIL (mother-in-law) Satish. For a few years I actually deprived my DH of this luxury because I simply couldnt be bothered (this is where my alter ego ms laziness kicks in). I used to think it was an extremely difficult task to cook this until my MIL showed to me how to cook it so effortlessly like she does. Yearly DH and I visit our family in India and we travel a fair bit around other cities visiting relatives before making a final stop over at Delhi at my in-laws. Due to our short and sweet trips in Delhi my MIL and I never really had enough time to bond and get to know each other. We finally had that opportunity when she visited us here in Australia and we had some quality MIL and DIL time together. I can say im one of the lucky ones to have a MIL like mine. Shes truly a gem and so unlike the MILs in the Indian TV serials that Im totally obsessed with.

Ok so you might think one minute im in India next in Fiji then in Australia..whats the connection? I might have confused you a little so let me clear this. I was born in the beautiful island of Fiji and kind of brought up in Oz. DH was born in India and landed in Oz so theres the connection that connected us in the land down under. Love blossomed and like a blockbuster Bollywood flick we danced to the bhangra, hip hop, salsa, locking and popping (ouch!), crumping (double the ouch!) and we even moonwalked the Taj Mahal. We serenaded ragga muffin style wearing our tea cosies under coconut palm trees on a white sandy beach simultaneously wrestling with a mud crab that took our romance with a “pinch” of salt! (gasp!) The end result….was our gorgeous daughter who my DH says is in a true sense “Fijian Indian” 😃need I say more?

Ingredients For Dough
2 Cups Plain Flour (Aata)
Warm Water For Kneading
1/4 Tspn Oil
4 Tbspn Ghee (Clarified Butter)
Salt To Taste

Ingredients For Filling
1 Medium Sized Potato
1 Onion
1/2 Tspn Jeera (Cumin) Powder
1/2 Tspn Dhaniya (Coriander) Powder
1/2 Tspn Chiili Powder
1-2 Small Green Chillies(Optional)
2 Tbspn Fresh Chopped Coriander Leaves

Method For Dough
• In a bowl add flour and warm water and mix to make a dough adding a 1/4 tspn of oil. Knead to make a soft stringy dough. I usually throw everything in a dough mixer to do the hard work otherwise my arms will be crying for mercy. I also like to add salt in with the flour. I find if I add it in the filling it makes it a bit too mushy which in turn can create tears in your Paratha.
• Now set aside and prepare your filling or you can do either way around.

Method For Filling
• Boil washed potato until nice and mushy soft.
• Cool and peel and mash in a bowl making sure theres no lumpy bits.
• Chop onion very finely (I sometimes grate the onion and squeeze the water out before adding in Potato but thats a very tearful method).
• Add all ingredients cumin powder, coriander powder, chilli powder, green chillies and coriander leaves into the bowl with potato and mix well.
• Now make palm size balls from dough and roll it out like a mini flat bread enough to put filling on it or press and pull the edges to sort of form a mini cup.

20131023-231034.jpg
• Take about a tbspn of the potato filling and place it in the centre. Pull the edges together and press firmly to close ensuring theres no air trapped inside.

20131023-231449.jpg
• Softly press with your palm to flatten the filled roll and then with light pressure roll it out on a board carefully. You can add dry flour on both sides while rolling so it doesnt stick.

20131023-231630.jpg
• Once rolled place Paratha on heated non stick frypan or tawa and cook on both sides on medium heat. Once you think both sides are done take a spoon or clean muslin cloth and dab some ghee on both sides of the paratha and set aside. Your first few attempts (for a complete beginner) can be a hit or a miss. Trust me this gets better with plenty of practice. If Ms lazybones can do it so can you 😉.

This dish is best served with Makkhan (white butter) and sweet lime pickles.

20131023-231959.jpg

8 thoughts on “Aloo Paratha (Indian Bread Filled With Potato)

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Poppy's Patisserie | Bunny Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Aloo Paratha – Unleavened Bread Stuffed with Spicy Mashed Potato | ãhãram

Leave a Reply

