Aloo Baingan Tarkari (Potato Eggplant Curry)

G’day all 🍺🍸🍻🍷Hic! Happy Australia Day!!! I’m back in action after my break. For those who might not have read my last post I was off for surgery for my Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. My nerve issue on my right hand and arm is about 50% ok now so no more pains radiating up my arm, shoulder and neck. My thumb and first finger is tingle free. Although it seems like my Ulnar Nerve is playing up so my last three fingers are still weak. Aww does this ever end! I know one thing at a time so hopefully I’ll be all fixed up in the near future. Next fix up on the list is my ulnar then carpal on my left hand and finally the real pain in my b**t my Spinal Nerve Compression.

Now if you’re wondering what nerve pains feel like let me explain. It’s like electrical currents running through your arms and fingers which is extremely sensitive to touch and causes constant pins and needles with weakness (I end up dropping things more often than my daughter does lol). The spinal nerve compression causes sciatic pains with a burst of electrical like currents radiating all the way down to my toes in spurts. Wow! I’m not only radiating I’m electrifying too..oooohh! 😮 I like the sound of that!! hehe😄

Moving along…I dont know whether my Aloo Baingan recipe today should be classified as a curry because its actually a spiceless dish. What the heck lets just call it one anyway since it’s cooked by an Indian and eaten with roti by an Indian. It surely can’t get anymore Indian than that lol. You know sometimes I just want those spiceless days and to give my trusted antacid a break so this comes in as a quick rescue. The base of the flavour is mainly from the tomatoes and garlic. Enjoy this with roti or spread it on a slice of bread, thump another slice on top, press in a sandwich maker and brruuahh! you have a grilled potato sandwich!

Just a pet peeve before I sign off. I’m furious with the surgeons who sliced through my delicate palm and got on my nerves..literally! They have turned my life upside down and you know how? Well they completely screwed up my lifeline didn’t they…there goes my destiny!! Bahhhhh!! 😩 I will need to get my palms read all over again. Now the mystery is..have they actually shortened my life or lengthened it. What do you think? Hmmm😕I guess only time will unravel this mystery. To be continued…..

Ingredients
4 Medium Sized Potatoes
1 Onion
2-3 Garlic Cloves
1-2 Green Chillies (optional)
1 Large Eggplant (I have used the large black-purple variety)
2 Medium Sized Tomatoes
2-3 Tbspn Oil
Salt To Taste

Method
• Wash, peel and cut potatoes into medium-thin wedge like pieces.
• Wash, halve eggplant and cut long med-thin pieces. Set aside soaked in water so it doesnt go off color.
• Slice onions and crush the garlic.
• Chop the tomatoes and chillies finely.
• Heat oil in a non-stick pan and add onions, chillies and garlic into it. Cook until lightly browned.
• Throw in the tomatoes and cook for a few minutes until it’s mushy soft. If it gets too dry you may add a little water.
• Finally add the eggplants and potatoes and cook covered on low heat until potatoes are done.

This dish is best served with Roti/Chapaati or bread.

20140216-233135.jpg

2 thoughts on “Aloo Baingan Tarkari (Potato Eggplant Curry)

Leave a Reply

