Cabbage Bhaji Aloo (Buk Choy And Potatoes)

Well guys this is my final post 😔..haha gotcha just kidding!! Actually I’m just temporarily going to be out of action. I won’t be able to post any recipes for six long weeks baaaahh!! 😩 I’m off for surgery for my right hand next week for my Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. I will still be “around” though and practice using my toes👣instead (not a very pretty sight at all lol) huh! why toes?? I can still use my left hand der!!! It will be interesting to see how my little darling will cope as she needs my arms for comfort to sleep and cuddle. Guess I had better start practicing with my left arm instead. Anyway I hope this surgery makes a difference to the pain I have been experiencing for three years now. I can’t wait. Wish me luck!

Alright! my show stopper dish today is Buk Choy with potatoes. Some might think what an odd combo..wait till you try it guys its so simple and delicious. In Fiji we call Buk Choy just plain cabbage and Bhaji is a word used for certain green leafy vegies. I’ll let you in on a secret….I add potatoes to my leafy vegies (which tends to decrease in quantity when cooked) to actually increase the quantity of the dish so I can have some leftover for next day (shhhh! saves the lazy me from cooking the next day hehe).😉

Now I’ve always given you my Fijian flashbacks today I have my Aussie one. My best memory of my hey days in Oz (this is so giving my age away) is of the times when my friends and I would venture out partying thinking we actually looked cool in our shoulder pads. The higher the better (Yikes!) and oh those hairstyles. I was a cross between a brown skinned shapely Michael Jackson (and yes I wore black pants with white socks and shirt and an MJ hat!) and had teased hair that resembled Tina Turners (shudder!) with that pout👄and all.

I wore eye make up that would make Cleopatras eyes look pale in comparision and that flouroscent pink lippie💄(OMG!). Everytime we met up with mates it was a “yo wassup homeboy?” and that wierd handshake where most of us forgot what came next the punch👊or the pat👋.We were all just sooo cool (so we thought). We had no particular dance style we just copied the dancer who had their arms up in the air (like you just don’t care uha! ). It was an “in” thing to pinch the derriere of someone you fancied and pretend someone else did it. You stand there half shocked😳half flattered☺️trying to figure out the culprit. Ahh those were the days sigh!

Ingredients
2 Bundle Buk Choy
1 Small Potato
1/2 Of A Small Onion
2-4 Cloves Garlic
Pinch Of Cumin And Fenugreek Seeds
2 Tbspn Oil
Salt To Taste

Method
• Wash Buk Choy, discard end bits and chop finely.
• Crush garlic.
• Cut potato in small cubes.
• Chop onion finely.
• Heat oil a non-stick pan and add cumin and fenugreek seeds and fry until it changes color (if you dont like the taste of fenugreek you can skip it).
• Now add onions together with garlic and brown lightly.
• Throw in the potatoes and cook on low heat till cooked. Add about 1/4 cup of water if you find its getting too dry.
• Once potatoes are done (spoon break test required) add finely chopped Buk Choy and cook for further 5 or 10 mins depending on how well cooked you prefer your greens.
• Add salt towards the end as Buk Choy will wilt and reduce in quantity.
• You can also cook this minus potatoes in exactly the same way.

This dish is best served with roti or dhal chawal.

20140216-233403.jpg

2 thoughts on “Cabbage Bhaji Aloo (Buk Choy And Potatoes)

Leave a Reply

